top of page

Twitter Chat or "Chasing that #Rabbit"

It might be April Fools Day, but Twitter is no joke! I had the opportunity to engage with a Twitter Chat! Having never had one before, here were a couple takeaways I had:

Pros:

~ 140 characters! Definitely a challenge for me, (being the loquacious, chronic-over-explained I am) but definitely a chance for me to narrow down and be succinct and striking a balance between what I need and want to say.

~ #HASHTAGS! The chance to follow hashtags is like chasing a rabbit. You have an idea of where it is going to go, but the mystery and intrigue is there.

~ Community. Could sense a camaraderie amongst the MinecraftEDU staff that I felt before. Glad it carries over to their social media presence!

~ Making new connections. I was thrilled to have the opportunity to engage with people that I didn't know, but who had things in common with me and my teaching style.

Cons:

~ Following @ replies. I found it difficult to find who was referencing what and in what order. Though I'm sure with practice, this would become easier. Certainty more a comment on my ability than Twitter's platform.

~No "edit" feature. I've come across this issue more than once...noticing a small, easily correctable mistake that is IMPOSSIBLE to fix due to no tweet "edit" feature. Fix it Twitter!

All in all, I was glad to have the opportunity to engage with the thoughtful and enthusiastic crew over MinecraftEDU. Engaging with the technology that my kids use and finding a playful means to make it work for me and my learning is such a humbling experience. Can't wait to engage with the platform on a more consistent and knowledgeable basis.

bottom of page